Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Drum Sander- Really hard decision

New Drum Sander- Really hard decision

WOW! I have spent days in review hell trying to decide on a low end drum sander. Looked at scores of them, started out looking at the WEN 10" $750 one at Home Depot and ended up buying a Jet 18/36 ($1500 with casters and infeed/outfeed extension and tax). I am doing a bunch of small 1' cheese boards and small art tile frames not much bigger that any of the choices out there, including bench top, would do but that didn't help at all with the decision because I want to build out my shop to handle lots of different types of projects for probably the next 20 years or so (I've got a $99 table saw that I have been using for 35 years).

I would guess I am a pretty typical of hobby folks on this board. While I have some dough to spend it's still limits me to well made prosumer stuff and other than hand tools (plenty of those) I need all the floor stuff. I am 59 with a shop full of 'get me by' tools I have accumulated over the years for working on small re-hab projects, home repair and building a 400' building just buying the tools as I went. Now as I am nearing a time in life when I can spend a lot more time in the shop I want start picking up a few nice wish list tools I have never had and replace some that are either worn out or just plain cheap and crappy like my cheap Home Depot chop saw and table saw bought on sale when I was 25 and used to death.