Thread: First Table Saw Observations/Question

First Table Saw Observations/Question

Finally got my 3 hp Saw Stop assembled and outlet ran yesterday. Went with the ICS base and just applied the promotion towards the purchase of it. The ICS base is great. Moving the saw around is a breeze. As advertised, the packaging and directions were great. I did spend a fairly large amount of time trying to get the extension wings right. I’d say they are not perfect, but I think they are close enough. This is my first time ever using a table saw, so obviously I know next to nothing. One thing I noticed was I feel like I would be a little more comfortable if I could see the cut. With the blade guard on it is kind of tough to see the blade. Seems obvious that is safer to use with the blade guard installed, and maybe it will just take some getting used to. I am still trying to figure out shop layout and I was wondering what most people feel is adequate space to the left of the blade. I know it depends on what you are using the saw for, but just looking for some opinions.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Jacob Atwell View Post
    One thing I noticed was I feel like I would be a little more comfortable if I could see the cut.
    This is common with new tablesaw users. Seeing the cut is of no importance so you should let go of that desire early on. The blade is exactly where it is, it is not going to shift left or right, it simply spins on the plane you have it set on. A tablesaw is a straight line cutting machine that relies on a flat table, a true miter gauge or fence and well milled material to be cut. All these planes of travel converge to create the feed path. Deviation from this feed path leads to kickback which leads to injuries.