Thread: Best Planer On The Planet?

Rob Will Guest

Best Planer On The Planet?

I'm a newbie who needs to get up to speed on some serious iron. This is not to start a debate on old vs. new or euro vs. asian. What I would really like to know about is your favorite planer. All brands and configurations will get their fair shake.....but let's set some limits.
    • Width: 20" or wider
    • Horsepower: 3hp 1ph minimum / 15hp 3ph max.
    • Price: Under $10,000 (new or used)
    • Noise factor: Quiet if possible
    • Quality of cut: drop dead perfect
    Regardless of what it is......a $1200 Asian, a pricey Euro or a rock solid oldie they all have good points.....So, what is your favorite planer?
    Not a competition, just name your flavor.

Thanks,
    Rob

Thats easy. The best planers I have come across must be the Buss planers. Everything about them was engineerng overkill and they had the features. But Buss planers are not for the small shop as they weigh more than a buss.

Having said this about the Buss, I would say that my favorate planer is the Oliver Type 2 model 299. It is a very heavy cast iron planer that is extremely well engineered. It is a 24 inch planer but it has the footprint of many 20 inch planers and a lot of focus went into shrinking all the over sized items.

The power feed system is very nice and its more gear and shaft driven than rubber belt driven like the planers of today. The electrics compartment is housed in a casting recess so there are no bulky boxes to get into the way. The feed motor is housed in the lower base and is attached to a reeves drive system. I can plane very fast or very slow. I often plane very fast at the sacrifice of surface finish to get the job done and then take the last minute cut at the super slow speed to bump up my surface finish.