Thread: Questions about dewaxed shellac sanding sealer & different colored shellacs

Questions about dewaxed shellac sanding sealer & different colored shellacs

I've been using Zinsser BullsEye clear dewaxed shellac lately as a sanding sealer. It's a 2lb cut and I pay $17 for a quart. I always question the age when I buy it, and the quality of the shellac used. My question: What are some good alternatives for clear dewaxed flakes to mix my own sealer?

Changing subjects a bit, I'm fairly new to shellac finishing and am considering a garnet dewaxed for some cherry furniture and knotty alder kitchen cabinets I'm building. Seems a lot of folks like the warm amber tone on both of those species. I was looking at WellerMart dewaxed garnet, based on the reviews it seems to be good quality. Any other makers I might want to consider for a top quality dewaxed garnet?

I noticed that WellerMart also sells a dewaxed ruby and a waxed orange. Are there particular wood species that these two match well with? Probably a hard answer to get consensus on, really just looking for opinions.

Thank you.
    Scott Vroom

I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.

I've never had a problem with Sealcoat shellac drying/curing properly, and I think I've used at least 50 gals of the stuff over the years. I have had two cans spring a leak from corrosion but that's a different story. I know people like to buy flakes and mix their own but I see no need, no benefit, but I do see higher cost. So I keep using SealCoat. When I want shellac with color I add Transtint dye to SealCoat. You can get nearly any color you can think of, in any hue. One product, endless possibilities.

John

". . . dewaxed ruby and a waxed orange. Are there particular wood species that these two match well with?"

IMO, walnut looks good in darker shellacs. Not an original thought.