Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Multi Species segmented ring question

Multi Species segmented ring question

Hi All

Im new to segmented turning and have what may be considered a super basic question (I learned long time ago not to consider my questions as "dumb" so I use the word basic instead), I am making my first painted bowl design with a combination of Maple, walnut, and Padauk. I have milled the stock to the correct width and thickness, then did the typical marking of the top and one edge so that when assembling the ring I can alternate the pieces to make up for any inconsistencies in the pieces. Since the ring is made up of three different pieces of stock, I cut the required number for each species all at once - all the maple, all the walnut, and then the Padauk. Now when I am assembling the ring in the required order or combination I am not able to maintain the "alternating" pattern of pieces like I do when I cut all segments from the same board or species. So my question is should I worry so much about this and perhaps make the cuts on the sled species by species following the ring pattern I have to make. This seems like it would add a level of complexity on top of something this already mildly complex to keep track of. Am I over thinking things here and should not worry so much about this alternating pattern?

Thanks in advance

TomD