Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is anyone a fan of benchtop bandsaws?

Is anyone a fan of benchtop bandsaws?

Hey everyone,
    I am new to this forum. I just found it! It's great and you all seem very nice. It seems more relaxed than some of the other forums. I live in Nebraska!

I have been woodworking for some time. I'm not an expert by any means but I sure enjoy it. I am building up my major tools as I go. If I take on a project and I need a new tool I buy it. Sometimes I take on projects just so I can buy tools . Anyway, I plan to get rolling on some nice Adirondacks soon. I need a band saw. My shop is in my 2 car heated garage. My wife gets her side and my tools get the other side. Because space is somewhat limited and I think it's usage would be limited I was considering a benchtop model. Are they worth the money? Would anyone highly recommend a specific brand?

Thanks

deck

Benchtops have their place for scrollwork in thin materials and could be used for the chair projects you anticipate. 1) Stick with two-wheel models only...avoid the three-wheelers like the plague, unless it says, "Inca" on the name plate 2) If you can do a 10" or 12" model, go for it.

That all said, a 12" or 14" bandsaw on a mobile base doesn't take up a lot of room and can easily be tucked away when the garage needs to be used as a garage...
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Welcome to SMC, Deck. Is that "the Beav", Wally, June and Ward in your avitar?

If you plan on doing small stuff, there are some pretty nice bench tops out there. Check out the Rikon's bench top.

Joe

Quote Originally Posted by Deck Reagan
    Hey everyone,
    I am new to this forum. I just found it! It's great and you all seem very nice. It seems more relaxed than some of the other forums. I live in Nebraska!
    No we're not! We're TENSE here. Tense I tell ya! Relaxing is for sissies! And don't bother me. Can't you see I'm busy typing?

(Sorry, I couldn't resist. )