Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What is a Cope and Stick Router Bit Set?

Question What is a Cope and Stick Router Bit Set?

In two very different articles that I was reading today, I came upon the term "cope and stick router bit set" and I have no idea what it means. I turned to four different catalogues with router bits for information (Freud, Lee Valley, Rockler, and Grizzly) but found nothing.

Having found nothing, I am wondering if perhaps this is some class of bit and there are several more specific names used in the catalogues.

I would appreciate it if someone could educate me.

I'm no expert here, but I do believe it's inter changeable w/ rail and stile bits.

I know a cabinet maker who referred to door making bits as cope and stick...

I'll keep an eye out here to see if I'm right...

Ciao
    Joe in Green Bay

These are terms pulled from the glory days of serious woodworking. The term stick refers to the blank fed into a moulder and sticking an edge is the moulding cut or cut that is inline with the grain. The term cope refers to the end grain cut usually done by a tenoner. For example, my tenoner has five motors. Two motors cut the tenon and two more cope the profile. Often, this cut is an end grain cut that reaches under the cheek of the tenon to form an opposite but equal profile to the stick profile. These two motors spining these cutters are known as the copeing heads and they spin the cope cutters.

Recently, the router table has taken over this task esp. in regard to hobbyists building frame and rail structures for cabinet doors or furniture. The router bit sets that cut the profile for both the long grain cut and the end grain cut are known as cope and stick sets. Incidently, so are the shaper cutter and tenoner sets used to do the same task on these machines.

So as you can see, these are most likely bits you are already familar with. You just didnt know the obsure name.