Thread: Saw sharpening files

Saw sharpening files

I am new to saw sharpening and am looking for any recommendations for quality hand saw sharpening files. Looking for ones to sharpen my panel saws and backsaws. A triangle profile is used right?

I got a good set from Lee Valley Saw file set
    They handle every saw that I have.
    It's never too late to have a happy childhood.

It seems like quality from any manufacturer ebbs and flows over the years. I’ve never bought a file I couldn’t sharpen a saw with. Some just last longer. I’m liking Simonds red tails right now.

I also use the bahco ones from lee valley, I have that set and then extras in some more heavily used sizes

Great recommendations - thanks!

I do know that the brand sold at Menard's ( Masterforce?) are junk...not worth the price.....
    A Planer? I'm the Planer, and this is what I use

I'm far from expert at saw filing. But I can tell you this much

The F. Dick [German] files from Bad Axe and the Corradi [Italian] files from Tools for Working Wood are light years beyond the Bahco and Grobet files I had used. Completely different league. And you get what you pay for. Rather, you pay for what you get.

Did they make me a better saw filer? HAH!. Not the tool's fault - the pilot flew that plane into the hill. But I'm telling you - I. Was. Amazed. Like a my first Auriou compared to a lifetime of Nicholson.

FWIW - I had a short email with the filing folks at Lie-Nielsen some time back. I was told they get theirs from Bad Axe. I asked which file for their carcass saws - they said to look at the Bad Axe site and use their schedule.
    Last edited by Kent A Bathurst; 04-25-2023 at 2:08 PM.
    When I started woodworking, I didn't know squat. I have progressed in 30 years - now I do know squat.