Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Buying a Sliding Compound Miter Saw - Need Counsel

Buying a Sliding Compound Miter Saw - Need Counsel

Hi All,

I’m in the market for a good quality, compound miter saw. I’ve been checking out the Festool 10”, Dewalt 779 (12”) and Bosch 12” with the robot arm. The positive reviews for all of them are off the charts. The negative reviews are all over the place, from crazy tight blade lock screws on the Dewalt, to excessive lateral play and plastic on the Bosch, to small cut capacity on the Festool. My requirements are cut consistency, accuracy and cut capacity. I’m a hobbyist getting close to retirement, and I expect to be using it quite a bit more. A buddy of mine has a Ridgid 12” and he complains about consistency and accuracy. I’ve spent some time with him trying to dial it in to no avail. It has tons of power, but when doing a larger cut it deflects - it’s obvious when you check the cut board for square or the zero clearance insert.

Do you all have some thoughts on what I should invest in? Or, are there threads where this has been covered at length?

Thanks for any feedback or direction.

Sincerely,
    Paul

For "cut consistency, accuracy and cut capacity", I would go with the DeWalt. I think that the DeWalt miter saws have always been very good. The major complaint on the DeWalt (as well as other miter saws) is dust collection, which is just horrible on most miter saws. The Makita has decent dust collection, but suffers on accuracy and factory slide alignment as well as soft metal used for the detent presets. The Festool is the best for dust collection, but is on the smaller side and very expensive.

When I joined here back in 2006, a lot of people had the opinion that a miter saw had no place in a wood working shop, it was only good for construction.
    I scoffed at that idea.

What did I know?

Slowly over the next dozen years, i swung around more and more to that point of view.