Thread: Panel Cutterheads w/ inserts

Blog Entries

Panel Cutterheads w/ inserts

Hi,

Worth getting one or stick w/ buying one piece panel cutters for whatever shape you want?

I was looking at Whitehill because that's the only shaper tooling I have, but not sure what others thought. Seems like a limited selection of inserts available.
    Yes, I have 3 phase!

I have a nice insert head and 8 or so sets of inserts that came with a shaper I purchased used. I played around with it once and it did a very good job. I always grab the one piece panel cutter though. The insert heads always seemed more pertinent for someone that needs to cut a lot of different profiles and possibly have inserts custom ground to match an existing pattern. The inserts I have are high speed steel. They leave an incredible smooth cut but dull faster than carbide. Because all the inserts in a set have to be identical and of an identical length I don't have the guts to sharpen them myself.

I am not a production shop so I have never dulled a carbide shaper cutter to the point that it needed to be resharpened. I am a big fan of the Grizzley shaper cutters. The standard 3 wing cutters do an excellent job for me. I have a 5 wing lock miter cutter that does and incredible job. The 5 wing lock miter almost leaves too smooth of a cut for good glue ups. A bit rougher cut would leave more grain for the glue to bite into.
    Last edited by Michael Schuch; 12-04-2023 at 3:50 AM.