Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I have an 8 years old son who is passionate about wood work. What should i do?

Lightbulb I have an 8 years old son who is passionate about wood work. What should i do?

How can I put him on the right track? I'm a terrible teacher despite being good at my craft. Please I need an advice. This is my first post on this great forum
    Lucas Brown

Are you passionate as well?
    It will be similar to firearms everyone has a point in life when they are capable of using them safely. Some may be later than others and some never.

But there are plenty of safer tools. A scroll saw may be a good place to start. I would also look at Rockler. They have all kinds of kits. Some which require few tools. I learn best by doing so these may work if hes the same.

I have built a bunch of the Lowes kids projects(Little more than hammering a few nails) with my kids but they are 3&6 and show no real interest

Introduce him to hand tools. I wouldn't even consider getting an 8-year-old near power tools. Pardon me for being dark, but many a victim of child labor was seriously injured or killed by machinery in the early 20th century. I just don't think we can be sure about any person at that age being safe with power tools. Hand tools can still be dangerous, but not to the extreme which power tools are dangerous.

Try to find old episodes of "The Woodwright's" shop with Roy Underhill. If your son learns how to use hand tools, he can eventually move onto power tools which will make him an excellent hybrid woodworker. If you can afford to buy him good quality hand tools, he can use them for the rest of his life and eventually hand them down to his grandchildren. Used hand tools are an excellent option if you can find them.
    Last edited by Pat Germain; 12-12-2023 at 3:11 PM.

Welcome to the forum!