Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How many sharp edge tools?

How many sharp edge tools?

How many hand tools in your shop that are sharp e.g. arm hair shaving or will be again at next sharpening?

I count 92, mostly Japanese but 14 western planes, shaves, draw knives, etc.

Not including utility knives, marking gauges, glue chisels, power tools. I don't have a lathe so none of those either. Another dozen or so in work truck.

I have no idea. But probably less than 50, even if you counted chisels. I try not to collect tools that I don't often use. But most of my tools have a sharp edge, seeing as I'm a primarily hand tool woodworker.

I don't think I have as many as 92 pounds of them, if you don't count the plane bodies, but here are a couple of chisel toolboxes. These don't include the timber framing chisels or carving chisels that are in other toolboxes. HVAC scale.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Tom M King; 12-18-2023 at 10:21 AM.

Blog Entries
    How many hand tools in your shop that are sharp e.g. arm hair shaving or will be again at next sharpening?
    Counting my planes was given up at ~60. Since then many more have been acquired. Then there are the combination planes with as many as 50 blades each. A pretty good set of hollows and rounds and other molding planes.

It is likely that more planes have come into my shop and left with a new owner than many people have in their shop.

Then there are the chisels & gouges…

A couple of my hatchets & an axe might be sharp enough to shave arm hair.

jtk
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

More than I want to count

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Koepke View Post