Thread: Choosing a Lacquer-esque Waterborne Clear Finish to "Main"

Choosing a Lacquer-esque Waterborne Clear Finish to "Main"

I'm a long-time occasional hobbyist who is finally getting more serious and regular about woodworking projects including (in order of frequency) furniture, kid's furniture, household trim, shop items, and other miscellany for friends and family. The majority of what I've done has used oil-based stain followed by brushed or wiped oil-based poly (big box brand Minwax, Varathane). I've done a few projects with danish oil and shellac where durability isn't a big deal. I love the look and longevity of these oil-based finishes I've "main-ed" in the past, but I hate dealing with solvent safety and cleanup. My shop is a third-stall of a garage loaded with kid's stuff and I'll never have a dedicated area for solvent-work, so I'm looking to go 100% waterborne low-VOC stuff. I will be spraying with a second-hand Fuji Semi-Pro 2 I recently acquired.

Goal of this thread is to select a single waterborne spray finish that will serve as my go-to which I can master and use for the next decade and beyond. These are the criteria I'm considering:

• MUST HAVES
      • Adheres over water-based stains
      • 3-4 coats may be applied in a day (e.g. recoat window between 30-90 minutes) and achieves the product's intended finish
      • Serves as a single product finish; nothing required beneath or above it
      • Comparable mar durability and resistance to water and household chemicals as nitro/pre-cat solvent-based lacquer

• OPTIONAL PLUS-ES
      • Adheres over oil-based stain
      • Works over sealcoats such as de-waxed shellac
      • Burn-in repair-ability a la solvent-based lacquer (does anybody other than EM6000 even CLAIM this?)

Based on these criteria, I've come up with the following short-list: