Thread: Dowel Making Jig

Dowel Making Jig

I find myself in need of making dowels from time to time ,and I am looking for an efficient, accurate way to make them. I have turned them on the lathe, but that can be a messy process and I'm not really good with a lathe. I get what I need, but it's a struggle to turn a perfect .375" dowel pin. I waste a lot of wood making them.It could be my lathe, but I believe it's just me. I just don;t use a lathe very often.

I have seen these things that look like pencil sharpeners from Lee Valley and I am looking for some real world input on them. Do they work with dense tropical hardwoods such as ebony, African Blackwood, cocobolo, Bocote, to name a few? All of the videos I have seen, the dowels are being made of pine, or a softer domestic hardwood, not a tropical Harwood
    I have tried making many of the DIY jigs on You Tube channels, but again, they're always making the dowels out of pine, and I have yet to find one that can turn a dense tropical Harwood dowel accurately.
    If they're worth the $50.00, and someone is using them on hard dense woods, I'd appreciate some real feedback.

Thank you.
    "The first thing you need to know, will likely be the last thing you learn." (Unknown)

I find the best dowels I make are from Rived wood or split from chunks. Then hammered thru a dowel plate there are limits to this way and dowels do come out slightly bent sometimes. But they fit tight and a bent dowel can be a powerful connection especially draw bore. I was just making some 1/8 dowels yesterday from hickory almost a 1inch long.
    Good Luck
    Aj

I bought one of these last year, and I'm quite impressed. https://www.amazon.com/Creker-Speed-...YEALw_wcB&th=1

You don't hammer the stock through the plate, like traditional dowel plates. Instead, you drive it through with a drill. The holes in the plate have cutting edges which cut the dowel to size.