Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mini Mite 4/Spraying issue

Mini Mite 4/Spraying issue

I have a fuji mini mite 4 spray system and I recently switched over to a new product to spray. I'm using the Emtech HSF5000 Primer and I am having issues with it coming out blotchy. I contacted the manufacturer and they had recommended spraying with a 2.0 tipset. I used it and had the same results of it being blotchy. I then thinned it to the settings to asks for and switched to a 1.8 tipset and am having the same issue.. Not sure what is causing the issue or what I should be doing to have a nice flow of paint coming out. Any help is greatly appreciated as I'm new to spraying.

The ESF5000 product is a lot more viscous than many of the finishes, although EM6500 that often goes on top is certainly more viscous than the clears are, too. While I use a different kind of spray system than you have (an HPLV conversion gun with the PPS system) I find I need to kick the air pressure higher on my particular gun to get beyond the "spatter spray" issue with thick coatings. I don't know what options you have for that on a turbine system, but perhaps others may offer some help. You do need the larger N/N for these finishes, but have to have enough air to atomize it, too. One thing you do not want to do is thin any more than Target says is acceptable, but consider using extender for that rather than water which will help things lay out more before they start to dry.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

You have the wrong gun to spray that stuff w/o thinning - a lot. The viscosity is listed as 60 seconds Zahn #4. Compare that to their EM-6000 at 35 - 40 seconds through a Zahn #2 cup. That's about 10 seconds through the #4 cup. TC says to use 30 psi atomizing air pressure, which means pressure to the inlet of the gun. Your gun likely is limited to about 10 psi. It's all stacked against you with your spray equipment regardless of how big the N/N set you use.