Thread: Air Nailer – 16ga. or 15ga. Or 16/15ga. Combo. LONG!

Air Nailer – 16ga. or 15ga. Or 16/15ga. Combo. LONG!

New into the air nailing area since I just got my first compressor a month ago. I have a Porter Cable 18ga. Nailer and am in the market for a 16ga. or 15ga. nailer. I am a weekend at best woodworker since I have a 19 month old boy and he is keeping me very busy plus working on another one. Because of the past statements my funds are limited. Back to my questions.

If I already have an 18ga. nailer what would be the next best size nailer to get 16ga. or 15ga? Also is an angled magazine any benefit over a straight one?

Anybody familiar with the 16ga./15ga. combo units like the Woodtek ATF-0350K ($215.99) from Wood Workers Supply or the Grizzly G6048 ($159.99). Would be nice to have a nailer that did both but these both have straight magazines and by the looks of it straight magazine 15ga. nail sizes are limited. Plus both of these are just out of my budget but if they are worth it I could hold off for a couple more months.

Some retailers are selling a lot of remanufactured nailers. Should these be avoided since they could be very heavily used units?

Nailers I have been looking at:

Porter Cable FN250B 16ga. – price is right, around $142 and free shipping. Lots of good reviews. Moderate amount of ReCons out there. Nails readily available.

Paslode 403700 16ga. – price might be a little out of my range, around $170. Looks great. Some mixed reviews, some great and a few with fit/finish issues plus and one stating that there is no depth set control. The NO depth control worries me! Have not seen one ReCon for this model!!!!!!!!