Thread: Hangers for duct work in attic.

Hangers for duct work in attic.

I'm going to hang my PVC 6" duct in the attic space obove my shop to save overhead. Ceiling is only 7'7". I would like some ideas on what to use that would help isolate any vibration, and be somewhat adjustable for hanging height. I've thought of bungee cords, but there's no good way for adjusting them except trial and error. I could use a threaded rod with a hook to innertube material around the pipe, but that sounds really involved to manufacturer. Anyone have any ideas? Something that's available at the local box stores? THANKS! Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...Exclusively Irish! When Irish Eyes are smiling....They're usually up to something!!
    Home of Irish Setter Rescue of North Texas.
    No, I'm not an electrician. Any information I share is purely what I would do myself. If in doubt, hire an electrician!
    Member of the G0691 fan club!
    At a minimum, I'm Pentatoxic...Most likely I'm a Pentaholic. There seems to be no known cure. Pentatonix, winners of The Sing Off, s3.

Jim, I used large tie wraps with a 2" deck screw through the center. It won't totally isolate but the elasticity of the wrap take most of the sound out. Once strapped up I use side cutters to clip off the ends. If you can't find them at the Borg, you might try A/C contractors or a cop shop, cops use them in place of handcuffs.
    Good, Fast, Cheap--Pick two.

I also used the 24" ties that Cecil refers to to mount my duct throughout the shop.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Large zip ties here too. I either put them through the eye of a screw eye if there was a rafter convenient, or I cut a 24" piece of conduit, attached it to the nearest 2 rafters with conduit hangers, and put the zip tie around that.