Thread: Help with reclaimed Southern Yellow Pine...

Cool Help with reclaimed Southern Yellow Pine...

Recently I was given some 100+ years old Southern Yellow Pine beams with a 4"x8" cross section & in various lengths. The building they came from was an old car dealership, hence their girth. But even after a hundred plus years of inside use the wood still seems to be 'wet'. Even though my moisture meter reads 8% to 10% M.C. every tool I use to work this stuff becomes coated with sap and dust, and I do mean COATED

I.E. when I used my bandsaw to slab out the wood, afterwards I had to use a putty knife to scrape off the build-up on both wheels, both sides of the band, and both sets of guides. After the putty knife I washed off everything with mineral spirits to remove what the putty knife left behind.

I've been woodworking for about 8 years and while I have seen build-up on my tools I have never seen anything like this. Is this normal for 100 years old Southern Yellow Pine? Logic, and my M.C. meter, says this lumber is dry but my hands and tools seem to say the opposite, that it's still wet. Is it really 'wet' or is it just sappy??? Is there a difference between the two??? If this is normal for vintage Southern Yellow Pine, that's okay, I'll deal with it but will I have to do anything 'special' before gluing it or putting on a finish?

Thanks! Mike

Yellow pine will gum up blades very fast as you have witnessed, no matter how dry it is. SYP sap is very thick and the wood is very soft. I would actually be a little leary of using some of my tools with SYP because of what you are experiencing.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Becker
    Is this normal for 100 years old Southern Yellow Pine?
    In a word, yes. Even SYP that is way older than what you have will be the same.