Thread: Source for hardwood in SoCal?

Question Source for hardwood in SoCal?

Newbie here. I'm really pleased I found this board. A wealth of info at your fingertips!

On to my first of many questions...

Where do you people buy your lumber in SoCal? Specifically, in and around my area, say... from the San Fernando Valley to <st1><st1:city w:st="on">Ventura</st1:city></st1>.

Basically I'm looking for a lumber yard that will sell small quantities (100 BF or so at a time) of rough-cut oak, maple, etc. for a reasonable price. This material is pretty expensive in Southern California<st1></st1>. I've been to a hardwood specialty place near me, but they seem pricey. All the wood is S4S already which I’m sure bumps up the price a bit. Anyone know of alternatives?

I've been doing light woodworking as a hobby for a while (read as I'm an awful woodworker), but I'm starting to take on larger and more expensive projects and I just don't have a clue as to what I should be paying for hardwood boards. Right now I'm paying about $4.50+/bf for 4/4 red oak. $6.70/bf for 8/4 hard maple. The quality is good and is finished S4S. How are those prices? I'd really like to hear from the SolCal residents as I'm sure this stuff is next to free if you're from the Northeast.

Thanks for the info!
    George

George,
    First of all welcome to the Creek.
    I buy most of my wood from Reel Lumber. They are a bit of a drive for you but they do offer good value. There web site is at www.reellumber.com and have yards in Anaheim and Riverside as well as a Mill in Anaheim. IU have been very happy with there quality and price.
    I am sure other So. Cal Creekers will pipe in there suggestions.

Conejo Hardwoods

I haven't compared prices, but I have purchased some S3S maple and purpleheart from Conejo Hardwoods in Westlake Village. I'm sure they are not that cheap, but they have a decent selection in the area.