Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bow UP or DOWN?

Question Bow UP or DOWN?

I may be doing this incorrectly, or doing it correctly but with some flaw in my technique...

I have a few boards that have a slight bow in them, and I was hoping to run them through my jointer to get a straight edge. My question is, should the bow face up or down? I'm pretty much flying by the seat of my pants with this, as this is my first attempt to straighten out a board. I tried some last night, and somehow managed to get one end of the board narrower than the other end by about 3/4". Not sure how I did that....

Many THANKS for your patience and continued advice from this inexperienced, yet very enthused rookie!!

Keith

Quote Originally Posted by Keith Starosta
    I may be doing this incorrectly, or doing it correctly but with some flaw in my technique...

I have a few boards that have a slight bow in them, and I was hoping to run them through my jointer to get a straight edge. My question is, should the bow face up or down? I'm pretty much flying by the seat of my pants with this, as this is my first attempt to straighten out a board. I tried some last night, and somehow managed to get one end of the board narrower than the other end by about 3/4". Not sure how I did that....

Many THANKS for your patience and continued advice from this inexperienced, yet very enthused rookie!!

Keith
    Run the board through bow side up. I've had similar results where one end has more removed than the other, but only by an eighth of an inch or so. If you see this happening, turn the board so that the widest end goes through first. Continue pushing the board through till the bow is at its maximum depth over the cutters and stop. Take the board off and run it through again, this time all the way. This will keep the board a more even width.