Thread: Jointing long stock

Jointing long stock

I am fairly new to woodworking and am having problems edge jointing long boards. I have a small 6" benchtop jointer, and am currently attempting to square up boards that are 5 feet long. I find that after jointing, the edge to face angle is a true 90 degrees, however the edge itself is now concave over the length of the board.

While my blade height is set to 1/32", there appears to be ~1/8" more material taken from the middle portion of the board than from either the leading or trailing ends. I am dumbfounded and cannot understand how this is occurring.

I have focused on not applying any downward pressure other than what is ncessary to keep the board steady. I am also fairly certain that I am not raising, then lowering, the blade as I run the board across it...I have lived with this situation for my previous projects, and just clamped the heck out of panels I am gluing up. I've read that the concave situation is better than convex, but I'd rather just have 2 nice edges to glue up...

Thanks in advance for any advice.

I try to keep the blades even with the outfeed of the table. I have seen this happen when the blades are proud of outfeed. The quickest way to check is to lower the infeed table to take a 1/8" cut and edge joint about 3-4" on some 12" or longer scrap. Turn off the jointer and look to see if the part that is over the outfeed is touching the outfeed side. If you have a set of feeler guages it can make it easier to determine, but a piece of paper is about .004" thick too . If there is a gap between the wood and the outfeed, then raise the outfeed until it touches the part you have just jointed. The rest is technique