Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Face Jointing large width boards

Face Jointing large width boards

As a new woodworker, I have a question for all of you more experienced. I have a 6 inch jointer, and have some lumber that is more than six inches wide. I want to face joint these boards but they will not fit on the 6 inch jointer. The boards are not straight enough that I would feel comfortable running them against the fence on the table saw in order to cut them down to a size that I could use on the jointer. How do I get these to a managable size? Also when face jointing, I have the jointer set for 1/16th of an inch. Should I set the infeed/outfeed for a deeper cut in order to get the boards flat?
    Thanks in advance for your assistance.
    If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a Vet!

If you have a circular saw, simply clamp a straight board to the one that you're wanting to put a straight edge on. Position it so that you will cut off just enought to create a straight edge; then you can go to your TS and rip boards that you can flatten on your 6" jointer. You can buy something called a jointrclamp that enables you to do this on the table saw, but frankly it's easier to me to do it with a circular saw and a straight-edge guide.

Jointer depth--1/16" is too much IMHO. I would go for 1/32".
    Last edited by Mark Pruitt; 05-30-2006 at 8:34 AM.

If you have a bandsaw, this is the best and safest tool to use for ripping stock without a straight edge to reference. If not, use the method suggested by the previous poster. Clamp or screw a straight edge to the board and cut one edge to use as a reference. I have used this method and it works.
    Or you could just wait for some winning lottery numbers and get one of those 20" jointer/planer machines.
    Good luck and watch those fingers.