Thread: shop fox mini lathe question

Smile shop fox mini lathe question

i am looking to get a new mini lathe for me and my 15 yr old son we want to turn small bowls pens and stoppers wonder if anyone has any coments on the shopfox mini lathe as we are on a tight budget and can not at this time afford a jet or the like the shop for is in our budget

thanks in advance

Cory

That lathe looks very much like the one sold by PSI under the Turncrafter brand. The PSI lathe only has a 1/4 HP motor which will be fine for pens, bottle stopper and other small items; but may be a little underpowered for bowls.

Take a look on Amazon.com. Frequently you can get unbelieveable deals there. Deep discounts and free shipping and sometimes additional discounts if you apply for their credit card.

I would suggest the PSI Turncrafter Pro. It can be had for 159. and is a Jet Clone. I have been using it for about 8 months. Has a great warranty. I havne't made bowls but have done pens, vases, boxes, goblets and other larger spindle stuff. This one has the 1/2 horse motor on it.

Actually I went and looked at it and they now have it at $179. Here is the link:
    http://www.pennstateind.com/store/tclpro.html

Corey
    Last edited by Corey Hallagan; 09-19-2006 at 9:12 AM.

Cory - I think you are only a couple of hours away and you felt like making the drive over to PSI (its on the Northeast edge of Philly) you can at least see the different makes and models and get a feel for what you do and don't like about them. Sometimes they have dent and dig ones for extra sale. I picked up their $30 pen chisel set for $15 because it didn't have the wooden box. Talking to the guys over there helped me out quite a bit when I was getting my stuff in order. I am now toying with the idea of buying one of their cheaper lathes for when I do pens, seems a waste to be runing my ShopSmith for things like pens.

wayne