Thread: Need some help with decisions.. for a complete novice

Question Need some help with decisions.. for a complete novice

And when I say complete, I really mean complete novice.

Hello all. I will make this a bit longer, sort of an intro...

I am the sort of person who will insist on doing something once, then realizing how bad I am at it, and hire a professional for the next time. It does give me the chance to understand and appreciate the work going into things, or when I am being bamboozled. (also creates a lot of wasted stuff, and nasty cuts and bruises! )

I was always impressed by soft wood rocking chairs, beautiful wood tables. I think I would enjoy wood work. So I have a project to see how well I do.

I just emptied out my kitchen (90" x 140") in my town house, a repo/burnt out place. Right now, I am working on replacing the subfloor and re-routing the water pipes. (I learned with an other wall that I will not do the drywall in the kitchen.)

After the new subfloor, I need to frame the place, drywall, floor (tile or hardwood), then cabinets.

I have two options - I can go to the local big block hardware store and pick up the flat packs/pre-made cabinets (unless I can find them cheaper online?), or make the cabinets myself.

I have several questions, and after reading a lot of posts here I am confident there are people here who would be knowledgable to answer them. I would very much apreciate your help.

Should I finish the floors all the way to the walls (complete), or leave space for the floor cabinets? The place is small, so there is no major cost difference in size.

What tools must I have to make cabinets? I have a very limited set of tools - circular saw, couple of electric hand held drills/driver, a dremmel, and few odds and ends stuff.

Frameless or frame is easier? I am leaning toward framed because it makes sense to me in strength. The frame also seem to be a bit more forgiving of imperfect size/cutting.