Thread: Finishes for Walnut?

Finishes for Walnut?

Hey,

As a disclaimer, I'm new to woodworking and this is my first real project, but I've tried to do my homework and hope to be able to get into it more. Any help would therefore be GREATLY appreciated.

I'm currently working on making a coffee table. I want the top to be a "natural" look, with the curves of the outside edge of the tree and the imprefections left in the wood. The pictures below are of the wood I am using - American walnut, air dried. If you look at the first picture below, I'm using the area approximately centered around that bulge where the branch comes out for the table top, with the two pieces laid together as shown.

I'm struggling with what the best finish would be to put on the table. Wipe-on poly was recommended to me, but from reading through the forum, it sounds like everyone uses some sort of oil base with it. I've also seen references to both water and oil based polys.

What I'd like in the end is something that really brings out the wood (no dyes) and shows the grain/pores. I would like to keep the natural color of the sapwood around the edges as well. I don't want it to be glossy (I understand I can use 0000 steel wool to get rid of gloss), although I wouldn't oppose a little bit. While I don't forsee this being an extremely heavily used table, I'd like something somewhat protective, as I'd like it to last quite a while (protection against water stains is always good).

The other difficulty is that as I'm currently in grad school, I don't have tons of room/time/money to do anything crazy, so simpler is better (to an extent). I don't mind putting in some hours though if it'll mean a much better finish. That's why the sound of a wipe-on poly appealed to me.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!!

Thank you,
    --Tyler

P.S. If you have opinions on sanding vs. scraping vs. using a smoothing plane, please share those as well.