Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on table saw

Talking Need advice on table saw

First I would like to say Thanks for allowing me to join your comunity. My name Is Tim Wagner, and I live in Lakewood, West of Cleveland Oh. I am an automechaninc by trade. I love photography and woodworking (thanks to my dear grandfather may he RIP). Also I am into gardening, and bird watching, and I also like to feed the squirrels. on to my questions.

After deciding to build a workshop out of the basement, I decided I would buy the Table saw first. So far I have chosen the Crafstman 10" Pro w/extensions. you can veiw it here. http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...seBVCookie=Yes

My other choice was the Rigid TS at Home Depot, but wasn't sure if I could add extensions, Also after some reading, I find that the Craftsman 3HP rating was at the lower end of what you want in a table saw. I can't really afford a cabinate saw at the currant 2100-2400 doller price tags I am seeing.

Do you think the sears model is a good choice? If there are any other models you think I should consider, please let me know.

Also does a left tilt arbor mean the blade itself tilts to the left? I am pretty sure thats what I want.

Thanks again for having me aboard, and Happy Hollidays to All!

I don't have any experience with the sears saw but for that price I would look at the Grizzly 1023, one of the hybrid saws, or one of the high end contractor saws.

Tim,

There are many options in the price range of the Sears saw.

Actually I am surprised at the Sears saw. This looks like a true cabinet saw. Not sure who is manufactoring this.

You should look at grizzly.com at their 1023 line of saws. These will be very compariable to the sears saw.

IMHO 3hp is fine in a cabinet saw. If you have room in your shop you will never regret the wider extension on the right.

I am sure many more responses will provide further advice, but my best advise is to listen and learn alot before you buy.