Thread: Dust collection system

Question Dust collection system

I am new to this whole forum thing. I have a question about Dust collection systems and I don't know where to ask it.
    My husband wants someone to help refine his Oneida Air Filter system in the workshop. We live in the Dallas area. He has a dust collection system in place, but wants to improve the attachments to his tools.

This is his Christmas present. Thanks!

Have you contacted the Oneida people? If you bought from them, they'll prepare a design based on your shop layout - a good place to start whether you buy the hardware from them or DIY. There are also some tips on their website and I'll be glad to pass along some as well. I took their design suggestions and worked from there.

What size system do you have and specific tools are you interested in hooking up?

Mike
    If you can't make it perfect, make it adjustable.

Hi Stephanie! Welcome to the Creek!
    Attachments to the individual pieces of equipment is a tough one. Is your husband in on this gift? or is this a surprise? The other thing, if we knew which tools he is looking to upgrade the dust collection on, it might help. But, with that said, many tools will require custom built hoods or pick ups to work as well as possible. If he doesn't have an overhead pickup/guard for the table saw, there are a few out there for sale. I hear good things about the Excalibur unit. Others here can point out the different ones that are available. If for a miter saw, that's a tough one to collect dust from. There is something commercially available called a Big Bulp, I think, but most people build their own.