View Poll Results: Are your woodworking skills self-taught?

Voters
61. You may not vote on this poll
  • Entirely by self and books

44 72.13%
  • Informally taught by exposure/ working with others

15 24.59%
  • Classroom experience

2 3.28%

Thread: Woodworking as a learned skill. . .

Woodworking as a learned skill. . .

I will be the first to say I am no master at anything, let alone woodworking, but I began to realize how much second nature many basic woodworking skills have become (in 7 years) when I was working with a couple of others.

One of them had apparently been using woodworking tools for most of his life, he almost had his house built (mostly by himself) when I started doing his kitchen cabinets. It started out as me supplying labor, but because I had more room and wouldn't have to move my tools around the sheetrockers, I ended up doing it all at my house. Anyway, he helped me plane down the wood, rip it up, joint it, and crosscut it. He owned all the tools for these operations, and owned books that talked about using them, but it didn't seem to sink in. I had to go over with him about which side to put up when planing to get minimal tearout, how to edge joint a board to get it actually flat. And I would cringe every time he ripped a board on the tablesaw. I think a tablesaw sould sound like a zipper when ripping, with that final "ting" when the board clears the last teeth. When he did it, there was all that whining, bogging, and screetching, then the sanding or jointing would come to take out the burns.