Thread: Leigh D4 users what bits do you recommend?

Question Leigh D4 users what bits do you recommend?

I am getting ready to order the 7 Piece Leigh Dovetail Bit Set from Whiteside.

I seem to recall reading somewhere that this set does not include one or two of the bits commonly used with the jig. I was wondering if this set is going to be sufficient to get me going or are there other bits that I should get as well. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Please tell me what the additional bits are used for and why as well since I am new to the jig not to mention a little bit dense at times.

Thanks,
    Craig

I am not familiar with the Whiteside set, Craig.

Please explain what you would like to make, and maybe the Forum users could suggest which to get. Often, a new user of the D4 or other dovetail jigs is just feeling around for what they would like to make, and therefore end up with a bunch of unused bits.

I believe you sound like you already know, though .

The D4 should have two 1/4-inch bits with it, so you can practice to your heart's content until you either 1) Get the new set, OR 2) Learn and zero in on what you wish to make.

When I purchased my D4 I just bought the Leigh set available at the time, and have been very happy with it. I am sure other sets provide a lot of versatility too!

Al
    http://www.sawmillcreek.org/images/buttons/fotc.gif
    Sandal Woods - Fine Woodworking

I bought a full set of "Leigh" cutters from a then-reputable bit manufacturer. While I haven't used all of them...yet...it was one of the few times that buying a "set" worked for me. (I've used a few off the jig for other purposes, too, including the sliding dovetails in the Shaker style candle stands I like to make) The two bits that come with the jig are fine for through dovetails (although not great quality), but you at least need the equivalent of the #120 for half-blinds in typical drawer thickness material. (1/2" or so)