Thread: Designing - Mission / Arts & Crafts

Arch Stanton Guest

Designing - Mission / Arts & Crafts

I have just started out in woodwork and I have fallen in love with the Mission / Arts & Crafts / Craftsman style of furniture. I have decided that I am going to make everything in the house in this style.

There are a lot of books around with plans and pictures and I am going to order some over the weekend.

What I would like to do is make some things that might not be in a book.

My problem is I am not a designer and I need all the help I can get in this area.

I know the style relies on:
    * mainly straight lines
    * no inlay
    * oak
    * using joining techniques for decoration.

Is there a particular book or website that would give me a set of guidelines I could use when I'm designing things?

Brian

I have been black and blue in some spot, somewhere, almost all my life from too intimate contacts with my own furniture. - Frank Lloyd Wright

I have been black and blue and bloody in some spot, somewhere, almost all my life from too intimate contacts while building my own furniture. - Rennie Heuer

Arch Stanton Guest
    Thanks Rennie,

I have been there but I did take another look. I've decided to get some old catalogues and just look at as many different pieces as possible.

Brian

Arch,

You might also check out a couple of books by Robert Lang, Shop Drawings for Craftsman Furniture and MORE Shop Drawings for Craftsman Furniture. I have both and they have drawings for several pieces, but you could also use them as a design reference.

Keith

Arch Stanton Guest
    Thanks Keith,

the man at Amazon is busy right now wrapping them up and putting my name on the box.

Think different

When you want furniture that is not in books dont buy books with Arts and Crafts style in them.
    Look for furniture that you like and then change it to your required style.
    What is Arts and Craft about, simple lines ,constructions that you can see and flared lines.