Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on buying router

Need advice on buying router

I am looking to buy my first good router and would like some info on different brands. I am just getting into ww and I am on a budget with alot of tools left to buy. I'm looking at 2 1/4 HP to start. I would like to know which models are good with above table adjustments and dust removal capabilities. The two brands I am leaning towards so far are PC but I am concerened with the handle vac as far as how good it actually works and do they have better alternatives. Second choice is Bosch. I see they have dust collector ports that look like they may work a bit better. Lowes has the Hatachi on sale for $114 for just the fixed base but I can't find any dust collection for it. I will be using this router for above and below a table and will be taking it in and out for now (I may purchase a seperate fixed base to leave on table in the future.) I don't do much ww for now so an expensive one is not best for now. Is ther universal dust collection or do people make one for theirs. Just trying to gain a much info as possible. THANKS!!

My recommendation is that you buy a 13amp ("2 1/4-2 1/2hp") router kit that includes both a fixed and plunge base for maximum versatility. All of the major brands are decent options. I have the Dewalt DW618 and have been very pleased with it, but the PC, Bosch and Makita offerings are very nice. There are also a couple new ones on the market from other manufacturers, but I'm not familiar with them.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Quote Originally Posted by Tullie Templet
    I am looking to buy my first good router and would like some info on different brands. I am just getting into ww and I am on a budget with alot of tools left to buy. I'm looking at 2 1/4 HP to start. I would like to know which models are good with above table adjustments and dust removal capabilities. THANKS!!