Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to the Mill *W/Pics*

New to the Mill *W/Pics*

I just wanted to introduce myself and this looked like the place to do it. My name is Jason Tuinstra and I live in St. John, In - about 40 minutes (on a good day) outside of Chicago, Il. I used to semi-regularly post on the Badger Pond. For whatever reason, once that shut down, I fell away from woodworking forums for the most part, though I do participate at woodcentral and post pic's from time to time.

Today is the first time I've seen this site, and when I saw it, it really looked like a community that I wanted to be a part of. So I'm very glad to be here. What a wonderful site!

I've been woodworking since 1997. I pastor of a medium sized church and am father to a large family (3 boys, 1 girl, and one due in Jan.). Did I mention I find woodworking very relaxing? Monday is my only real day to work in the shop, and even then it can be touch and go. But as a man who rarely sees the completion of much, I enjoy the satisfaction that working with wood gives.

Most of the furniture that I build for myself is in the Shaker-style. I am an advid reader of Shaker history and recently went to the Hancock Villiage. What a trip!

So I'm glad to be here and hope to make the most out of this community. Thanks for having me!

Jason

P.S. I've included some pictures to show off some of my work. My greatest work in progress is my beautiful family. The non-shaker piece is a 7 drawer chest made out of cherry that I finished last week for a friend. The clock is Shaker a reproduction made out of tiger maple.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Jason Tuinstra; 12-03-2003 at 3:46 PM.

Welcome to the creek Jason

Glad you found us & you're right this is a great community.

Pull up a log & hang out.

Great pics of your projects - specially that first project Great looking bunch of kids you have there.

The WW'ing stuff is real nice also - especially the clock.