Thread: DC ducting advice needed...

DC ducting advice needed...

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and I’m looking for some advice (actually, answers to the questions below). I’m a hobbyist and I have been fortunate enough to be able to buy a Jet 1.5HP DC from a friend for next to nothing and I’m planning to hook it up shortly. I have done some homework by reading some articles online as well as some threads on this forum. My workshop is in my basement so I think the DC should be an improvement over the existing shopvac that I wheel from one machine to the next.
    I have the following machines:
    § Table saw (contractors type)
    § Router table
    § Miter saw
    § 13” planer
    § Band saw
    § 16” drill
    All but the drill is along one wall. I plan to run the main duct (6” PVC, grounded) along that wall.
    Here are my questions, bear in mind that most of this I have picked up from my nosing around various web sites:
    • Is there any real advantage to running the main duct at machine height rather than overhead and using drops?
    • I’ve read that blast gates should be close to the machine but is that really an advantage? Strikes me that closer to the main duct would make more sense?
    • Should the connections from the main duct (using flex hose) be 6” or 4” as most of the connectors at the machine ends are 4”?
    • If the blast gates should be close to the machines and I do run 6” flex hose to the machines, would it make sense to get 4” gates if I’m reducing to 4” at that point anyway? I may in the longer term get around to converting some of the hoods to 6”…
    • As I got the DC itself so cheap, I might buy a canister kit (it’s the bag sort). Worth the $200 to do it?
    I think that’s about it – thanks in advance.

Jim.

Welcome to the Creek!

I'm sure you'll get lots of answers, but here are mine:

>Is there any real advantage to running the main duct at machine height rather than overhead and using drops?