Thread: Bandsaw 14" Delta vs General

Bandsaw 14" Delta vs General

I am a new member to the forum.

I am an amateur woodworker from Toronto Canada woodworking for about 16 years.

I am slowly replacing some of the benchtop tools that I bought early on with more powerfull stationary units. I am currently looking at replacing my 8" delta bandsaw with a 14" model, the 8" saw does not have the capacity for what I am trying to do now.

Home Depot Rigid, Busy Bee and King were ruled out for Horse Power or quality.

I looked at the Craftsman 14" but the model put together on the floor was put together poorly so I did not get a good feel for it. The specs seem ok but the saw looked flimsy and the base was not very stable.

So far I have narrowed it down to 3 models that are available locally. I perfer to be able to inspect what I am buying than order via Mail.

Delta 28-206 (Cast Iron, 1HP, avaialble Riser kit to 12" resaw, quick release but no rip fence)
    General 90-125 (1Hp, Cast Iron available riser kit to 12" resaw, quick release, and an average rip fence)
    General 90-150 (1HP, Steel Body, 8" resaw (fixed), Quick release and what looks like a decent rip fence)

All saws sell for about $750 CND with the current manufacturer sales. The Carftsman was a good price on sale but not convinced about the quality.

Has anyboy used the General 90-150 it seems to be new to the lineup? I Saw some concerns with the single Turnion on the right side, any problems with this? Any other Steel body saw use the same concept?

Any feedback on which is better the delta or the general cast iron? Is the fact that the general has a fence and a rack and pinion blade guide enough to sway the decision?

What type is better Cast Iron C types or Steel Body ?

How much use does the 12" vs 8" resaw capacity get?

I am not sure how many times this will make a difference but I would hate to make a bad decision on this and regret it later.

Any experience or advice would be welcome

Allain Godin