Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shaker Side Table

Shaker Side Table

Last week during my Spring Break, I built this Shaker side table for the upcoming baby's room. I really like the Shaker style, so I decided to try to build one. I used cherry to build it, also a first for me. I think I've found a new favorite wood.

The aprons are mortised into the legs. The legs taper down from 1 1/2" at the top to 3/4" at the bottom, and they are 26 1/4" tall. The top is solid cherry glued up using biscuits and measures 14"x20". I'll have to say that it is one of the flattest table tops I've ever made. The drawer is put together using "blind" pocket holes. By that I mean that the pocket holes are on the outside of the drawer box in the front and back pieces. The back piece you will never see, and the front piece is covered by the drawer front. You'll also notice that I used wood runners for the drawers to ride on. I've never used this technique before, but I didn't want to use metal drawer glides. I thought it just didn't go with the style of the piece. The top of the table is attached to the base using figure 8's. I finished the table using 3 coats of gloss lacquer, followed by 3 coats of satin lacquer.

Critiques welcome.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Keel McDonald ><>

Wonderful table, Keel!!! And in the style I love, too...
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Blog Entries
    Very nice, Keel. I have a couple bedside tables on my list and enjoy seeing other's smaller tables for ideas. I really like the drawer approach. Of course, the bedside tables are for me so I should get them done sometime in 2009.
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler

Very well done--nicve workmanship!! I like the simplicity of Shaker designs.
    Don Bullock
    Woebgon Bassets
    AKC Championss

The man who makes no mistakes does not usually make anything.
    -- Edward John Phelps