Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: best way to make tabletop minus planer...

best way to make tabletop minus planer...

I am a novice woodworker who has been charged by LOML to build a breakfast nook and trestle style table. She wants tabletop to be 2" thick. I have basic tools needed for this, and plan to use 2x6's, but I don't have a planer or jointer. Can I accomplish this with a belt sander? I made a work bench years ago with 2 x 4s, but obiously the smoothness of the top for that job was not critical. Suggestions, ideas?

thanks,

Allan
    "What happens in the garage, often through no fault of it's own, stays in the garage....."

By the way, I forgot to mention I'll be using pine........
    "What happens in the garage, often through no fault of it's own, stays in the garage....."

I'm not sure I could recommend using 2x6 construction lumber...it's way too wet for furniture use. What you could do is to source 8/4 material from a hardwood supplier and have them plane it smooth for you. That will give you about 1 7/8" - 1 3/4" thickness which with light sanding after careful glue up should hopefully be acceptable to the LOYL. (remember 2x6 is 1.5" thick... )
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

the term 8/4 is lost to me (novice, and an aggie to boot!) I was however keenly aware that 2 x 6's were around 1 3/4 thick. thanks

#5 jack plane.

I just made a 36x80 oak top 2" thick with a 12" planer an 8" jointer.
    Its going to be tough without a planer , jointer etc. You will pay dearly for something that thick thats already planed and squared for you if you can even find, you could also bring it to a lumberyard or cabinet shop that will mill it for you.
    My process
    Glued up 2 boards at a time so I could keep evenness as best as possible. The local lumberyard here had a 24" sander to pass it through. So i brought two halfs and had then sand it down to same thickness.