Thread: Zinnser shellac vs. others

Zinnser shellac vs. others

I'm a novice, and have used both the Zinnser Amber and Clear shellac finishes with good results. I see though, there are many types of shellac flakes on the market touted as much more exotic and somehow more desirable than Zinnsers. Is this really the case?
    thanks,
    Matt

I'm sure happy with the SealCoat for what I use it for. I've also used a bit of the amber and orange(?) for some color at times, but I don't like doing that if I don't have to since I then have to coat with the SealCoat as I use mainly waterborne finishes.
    Jason

"Don't get stuck on stupid." --Lt. Gen. Russel Honore

Matt,
    I don't know if it's exotic or not, but I use the flakes and mix it as needed. Shellac gets kind of funky with age, and you need to check the date on the can. If its a year old or so it may not work as well as a fresh batch. It's easy to mix your own to what ever cut you need, and then you know it will work just like the last time.
    We pulverize the flakes in an old blender then mix it and store it in a wine bottle (dark glass) with a rubber stopper.

I use the SealCoat on nearly every project - as a sealer and base coat.

For other shellac uses, my preference is de-waxed garnet, which I mix from flakes to about a two pound cut.

I've used the clear and amber/orange Zinnzer in the past, but I generally cut it 50/50 with alcohol before using it. It pads on much nicer that way.

Zinnzer shellac vs. others