Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ?Lighting over and around lathe?

?Lighting over and around lathe?

I am putting my lathe in an essentially unlit area of my garage.
    If you could start from scratch, how would you set up your lighting?
    Flourescent? Directional? Locations?

I'm considering permanent ceiling mounted lamps and movable floor/clamp lights.

Thanks,
    Kurt
    Last edited by Kurt Whitley; 05-23-2007 at 9:53 PM.

lighting

Kurt

I'm a turning newbie, but FWIW, I went with two drafting table lights. They have the articulated arms and swivel heads. I put a 60 watt incandescent daylight bulb in each of them. I can bend, swivel and generally move them any way I want to get the shadow where I need it.

They were cheap and so far, have worked very well.
    Grant
    Ottawa ON

Kurt I have 3 flourescents above the lathe. One the length of the lathe and then on each end running the opposite of the one above the bed. Kinda in a U shape. I don't have much for shadows. I have T8 daylight bulbs in them. It is almost like being outside on a sunny day. I do have one articulating lamp for close up's or to look inside whatever I am turning.
    Last edited by Bernie Weishapl; 05-23-2007 at 11:04 PM.
    Bernie

Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow.

To succeed in life, you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone and a funnybone.

DO NOT use fluorescent lights as....

.. the primary light source at the lathe. There is documented medical evidence that the pulsing /strobing effect can induce epileptic seizures in certain prone individuals. They are fine for general area lighting, but an adjustable incandescent type light is much preferred right at the lathe work area.

I have 2 500W halogen work lights ($40) for the general area and an articulating 60W incandescent for the lathe itself. I wish I had more light sometimes, like maybe one or two more of the articulating lamps. ($10 at staples)