Thread: I want to make a plane- help! (long winded)

I want to make a plane- help! (long winded)

This is my first post here on the Neander side but I was raised a neander and feel somewhat at home without an extension cord. My problem is that I am a builder so there is no time to use handsaws and hammers anymore. I have framed and trimmed without ait tools and I must say that they are nice in a production environment such as mine.

However, planes have become somewhat of a sickness for me and my recent finding of a nice plane in the garbage (and all fo the fun comments from you all) has reminded me of my desire to make a plane for shingling.

I want a wood bodied, palm sized plane with a slightly convex sole (front to back and maybe slgihtly side to side) and easy adjustment. Never made one but I think this is what I want.

I would use it for shingling (red and white cedar, 3/8" wide max) and specifically woven corners and trimming curved shingles where a long, flat sole really limits you. I have some Ipe and old planes to take apart for pieces but I need a design or somewhere to read about where to start.

Any ideas? Am I starting on the wrong foot with the wood body and curved sole concepts?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ben
    Strive for perfection...Settle for completion

What you've described sounds like what I call a "Chairmaker's plane". It has a doubly curved sole and an iron ground with an arc on the edge. I made one like that a while back using the Krenov method. I cut the front to back curve on the sole on a bandsaw and then rounded to the other curve with a plane - but sanding it on a disk sander would work, also. Mine is bigger than "handheld" but you should be able to make one about the size of a block plane.

Look for instructions on making a Krenov style plane and that should get you started.

Mike
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.

Make a practice one first