Thread: How much time after milling?

How much time after milling?

I'm new to building projects out of rough lumber. I already wish I had a bigger jointer but that's a story for another thread. My question is this. Because I basically only get shop time for a few hours in the evenings and weekends, it takes me a while to get pieces milled. It could be weeks (or longer) between when my first piece is milled and assembly. How long can I expect these pieces to stay straight? Should I get them close and then joint and plane them again right before assembly? What methods should I use to minimize warpage? I've been taught to sticker them to keep even air flow. Is that the best way to handle this? I'd be interested to hear how you weekend warriors deal with this issue.

Quote Originally Posted by Rob Bodenschatz View Post
    I'm new to building projects out of rough lumber. I already wish I had a bigger jointer but that's a story for another thread. My question is this. Because I basically only get shop time for a few hours in the evenings and weekends, it takes me a while to get pieces milled. It could be weeks (or longer) between when my first piece is milled and assembly. How long can I expect these pieces to stay straight? Should I get them close and then joint and plane them again right before assembly? What methods should I use to minimize warpage? I've been taught to sticker them to keep even air flow. Is that the best way to handle this? I'd be interested to hear how you weekend warriors deal with this issue.
    It depends. If the wood is truly acclimated it may not warp at all. Or it may. It also depends on the wood and QS versus flat sawn. The best bet is to mill and assemble as close together as possible. How is that for definative.
    America is great because she is good. If America ceases to be good, America will cease to be great.
    Alexis de Tocqueville

You don't have a soul. You are a Soul. You have a body.
    C. S. Lewis