Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kitchen and garage cabinets

Kitchen and garage cabinets

I am ready to take on a job I have never done before but have read about you guys doing it as if it was childs play...
    I need to buy the tools for this so your input will decide where I put my money....should I get a biscuit cutter,dowel,pocket hole,or I was even thinking about a corrugated fastener gun (anyone ever used one of these), to make the cabinet faces and the cabinet doors which will have four pieces of wood butt jointed together with a rabbet on the backside for an insert...thank you for listening to my rant

For face frames that don't require a lot of strength, it is mighty hard to beat the versatility of pocket screws. The Kreg jig is inexpensive and does a great job. For cabinet doors, I use a rail and stile router bit and reinforce the joints with dowels. The best dowel jig I have found is the Dowelmax. It is expensive, but is the only one of many I have used that consistently produces accurate results. I have never had a use for a biscuit cutter. I think there are other better ways to do the same job.

skip the dowelmax and any method that requires prolonged glue clamping. get yourself a copy of udo schmidt's book on building kitchen cabinets or danny proulx's book, a pocket hole jig for the face frames as well as for attaching the face frames to the case, a porter-cable air compressor/stapler/nailer kit for initial fastening and some assembly or confirmat screws to bolt the cases together. make sure you have a VERY SQUARE crosscut sled or - better yet - a sliding table attached to your table saw. the kreg jig works ok but you may get uneven joints which is why i bought steve clardy's router driven pocket hole machine - joints are actually flush without having to clamp the daylights out of it! i'm not crazy about corrugated fasteners being visible on the back side of the doors. are you sure you want to rabbet the doors instead of dadoing them?