Thread: New chain saw

New chain saw

A couple weeks ago I said I was looking for a chain saw. If you saw my other post you saw that I scored some wood today that needed to be cut. Over at the local Home Depot they had this little saw by Homelite that looked good to me. Let me say this, it is good for what they say it will do. On some smaller Mesquit logs I had it went through them very easy. The green wood from today bogged down the saw when you tried to split it. Now I am not an expert with a chain saw and I am sure that some of the problems where because of me. But to me the 33 cc just was coming up short and the 16 inch bar should be at least 18 at min. Biggest problem was when it got hot, I had a heck of a time starting it. I am going to return it and wait untill I can upgrade.
    Dennis

chain saw (600 x 450).jpg

Dennis,

If you are buying at the Borg, I got a Poulan 18" Woodshark there several years ago. It has always worked great. I upgraded to a Poulan Pro with a 20" blade when I got the load of mesquite a while back. No problems at all. I paid $169 for it and it came with TWO chains and a carry case. I might have been able to get it cheaper looking around, but I wanted RIGHT THEN, so you know how that goes. Just my $.02. Good luck!

I definitely would be taking it back. I took my Poulan back to Wal-Mart and bought the Stihl 360. That thing is a horse.
    Bernie

Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow.

To succeed in life, you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone and a funnybone.

Save up and get something decent