Thread: Turning Birch?

Turning Birch?

Hi,

I am a novice turner. I have only done a few pens so far, but I would like to try something bigger such as a bowl or something like that. I have a Jet VS Mini lathe, so I realize that will limit the diameter of the turning.

This weekend I cut down some birch trees, some of which have some crotch wood. How does birch turn? How big a piece could my lathe handle? What should I do to prep the turning blanks (I won't actually be able to use them for a while, until LOML gets her desk built sometime this winter)?

I am not against using this as a learning experience on the lathe. Products from the endeavor would be secondary.

Thanks,

Mike

I think any wood is good turning wood, as long as it is free. Especially when you are first starting out. As for haw good it looks and ease of turning, stability, ect. NOT SURE. But heck, it's FREE! Turn it, learn on it, enjoy the vortex!
    Be a mentor, it's so much more fun throwing someone else into the vortex, than swirling it alone!

Mike,
    Birch turns nice especally wet, sharp tooling helps avoid tear out. turn to rough size even through out and pack in paper bag with the chips from the turning, seal up and date the bag. weigh it if you have scale , weigh it every so often when it slows down or stops you can finish turn it, it will warp but cracks should be at a minimum. best time to take out a tree is mid winter , moisture content is way down less shrinkage and cracking. I have lots of it here and really like it for bowl and etc, finish with mineral oil and buff.
    John 3:16

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Lutz View Post
    How big a piece could my lathe handle? Thanks, Mike