Thread: Variable speed vs 6 speed

Variable speed vs 6 speed

I am in the market to buy a mini lathe primarily for pen turning. I think I have pretty well settled on the Jet Mini Lathe but what are your thoughts on 6 speed vs variable speed. I am a novice at turning. I heard some folks say they would definitely buy the variable and the $100 was worth it, I heard others say that especially for novices they thought the 6 speed was better since you knew exactly what your speed was and that changing speed was not so bad. If I get the 6 speed then I have $100 more to spend on good turning tools.

Thanks for your input

Skip...I have the Carba-Tech mini lathe that is variable speed, have had it since 1996 or 1997 and I really like the variable speed feature. If I was to get another mini lathe, it would be variable speed. Most of my turnings are pens. I also have a full size lathe which is not variable speed, still works, but is not as convenient. Just my opinion. Rod in Appleton, WA
    Rod

Variable speed is the only way to go! I purchased the Grizzly mini lathe for $139 and that has variable speed. No problems so far.

Skip,
    I have been accused of beating the subject to death.

The biggest advantage of VS on most lathes, is the ablility to turn at a lower end of the speed range. Sanding at 100 RPM vs the Minimum on most lathes of 500rpm, etc.

I am a die hard Jet Mini user, but I am critical of the fact that the new Jet JWL-1024 VS has the same speed range as the non-VS model 500-3900 RPM. With that fact, the VS option just becomes a convienience. The ability to set the lathe at a speed, say between the 500 and 750 steps in not that big an issue.