Thread: newbie question about air powered nailers

newbie question about air powered nailers

I have never used air powered tools before but see them used on Norm's show a lot. My question is not about which brand to use. I am confused by the functions of the various types of nailers and the gauges. Brad Nailer vs Finish nailer, etc.... Is there an article, book, or web page that explains the various applications of each?

I am looking for something to help assemble my woodworking projects so I think i want a finish nailer (something small with no head) to assist with joinery/glue up. Thanks for the input.

First, IMHO and hopefully without getting into the Great Norm Debate, air nailers are not a necessity (and often not advisable) for building furniture. They are, however, versatile tools for lots of home improvement and general building tasks.

That said, my rules of thumb are:

18 ga brad nailer: Small trim (quarter round, bead, up to 1" wide or so), especially trim applied over other trim.

16 ga finish nailer: Medium trim (base, door and window casing, up to 3" or so), assembling utility projects.

15 ga finish nailer: I don't have one, but it's the choice for larger architectural moldings.

Narrow crown stapler: Attaching thin plywood for cabinet backs, etc.

Wide crown staper: Upholsery.

Kent pretty much summed up the uses of each gun.

I would like to add that for furniture or for installing trim on cabinetry a 23 gauge pin nailer is going to be the gun of choice.

I won't install trim without a pneumatic nailer because it is so much easier and the results are better. You align the peice of trim and nail it instantly. In addition the nail is set perfectly every single time, and I have rarely had any splitting as a result of a pneumatically driven nail.