Thread: Walnut Shellac Question

Walnut Shellac Question

Hey Guys,
    I realize that I ask a lot of questions but I am pretty new at this. I wanted to use a more durable top coat over a "Waxed" Garnet Shellac over my Walnut Tables that I am constructing. My questions are.

-Is Shellac durrable enough for tables by itself?
    -I here urethane will not adhere well to shellac. What about a wiping oil/varnish like Watco Danish oil or Fromby's.
    -Could I use Sam Maloofs?
    Could I place a clear dewaxed shellac over the garnet then use urethane ?

Thanks
    Aaron

The question of durability is very subjective. I have a several tables where the top is finished in shellac. I have on occasion, where I expected wet or warm items to stay on them used varnish for a top coat.

No need to use a polyurethane finish on furniture. The chief advantage of poly is that it stands up to severe abrasion a little better--that's only really needed for floors.

You can not use an oil/varnish mix such as Watco or the Maloof finish over shellac or other sealed surface. Oil/varnish is only intended for use on bare wood where it can be wiped off the surface.

Formby's Tung Oil Finish could be used--that's because it is not an oil/varnish mix, let alone Tung Oil. It is a wiping varnish, and can be allowed to form a film on the surface. You can use other wiping varnishes, such as Waterlox, Satin, Original/Sealer or Gloss. Or, you can thin other traditional resin varnishes to wiping varnish consistency.

UV inhibitor

That is great information!

Would an outdoor UV inhibiting natural stain or top coat limit how much the walnut would lighten over the years. This is a x-mas gift I am making for my wife and she absolutely loves walnut but she has no clue that it lightens over the years.

Thanks again
    Aaron