Thread: Dont shoot me.. BS comparison request

Question Dont shoot me.. BS comparison request

I know bandsaw comparisons are numerous, so I apologize for making yet one more.

I am on the verge of purchasing the Jet JWBS-18X-3 3HP 18”. I was also looking at the Grizzly G0514X2 19” with the geared table tilt mechanism.

Some reviews on the Jet BS’s arent so great, however I see they have fixed some of the problems (cast wheels and not aluminum for one).

I have no experience with Grizzly. I know it’s a favorite with many.

If you have a working knowledge of the quality between these two I’d appreciate hearing it.

Price delivered on the Grizzly is $1389. Purchasing the Jet at my local Woodcraft would total $1441.59 after tax.

But there is a $100 Jet mail in rebate right now, and Woodcraft will give a store certificate of 7.5% of the purchase… which is another $102. I guess you could look at the Jet purchase as out of pocket $1239.59

So Jet is a better deal right now on cost.

I’d like to hear any input that would secure this as a good purchase, or steer me away towards the Grizzly. I have a Jet midi lathe and like it. Haven’t used their bandsaws. So I guess I am concerned with making a bad choice if these aren't up to snuff.

I am at my very upper limit on expense. I know there are some top quality machines for a lot more money, but such is the life of poor folks.

Again I do appologize for another BS comparison request. Woodcraft certificate offer ends soon so if I take that route I guess I’ll need to make a decision. If not then I have plenty of time to pick up the Grizzly.
    One good turn deserves another

Rick.

The $150.00 saved on the JET would purchase a few high quality bandsaw blades. Pretty important part of the equation to consider.

I have the new Jet version of the saw that you just got, but the 1.75hp 110v version, have changed the belt to a link belt and changed the blade.