Thread: What to look for in a table saw?

What to look for in a table saw?

OK, a little while ago, I asked for opinions on a $99 Delta table saw. Obviously, I know squat about what I'm looking for. I did gather from that thread that I don't want a direct drive, and I found out that it's mostly because of vibration (am I right on this?). Since I'm all new, I wonder just what I need to be looking for exactly. Obviously, I know to avoid direct drive, but what else? How can I tell if something is direct drive if they don't say anything on the website? Any brands to just run away screaming from, no matter how good a deal? Any brands I should jump on regardless of how good a deal?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. I hate sounding like a no-nothing noob, but I'll deal with it for the time beingsince I'm a no-nothing noob

Thanks!

Tom

edited to add that I'm mostly looking for criteria, but suggestions are welcome. I'd prefer to not spend over $300, but recognize that I may have to suck it up and spend more than that anyways. Craigslist isn't an option (nothing for my neck of the woods) and the local paper hasn't had anything in it for a while. Besides, I'd rather buy new and have the insurance of a warranty

Blog Entries

one idea

Remember a lot of people will have table saws that they haven't used and haven't thought about for years. you might be better off posting a "wanted" ad on craigslist or putting up some flyer's at local lumberyard. I got my table saw for free when a friend was going to give me a radial arm saw he had in storage. As we were digging out the radial saw I casually offered to buy "that table saw in the corner" until I mentioned he thought he gave it away years ago.

Blog Entries