Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cheap workbench

Cheap workbench

Hello all,

This is my first time posting to this forum.

I just thought I would post some pictures of a workbench I made this year. It isn't finished, but at least it is to the point that I can use it.

I read a few books about workbenches before I made it, "The Workbench Book" by Scott Landis, and "The Workbench" by Lon Schleining. After reading these books I started dreaming about the bench I would like to have. And after I spent too much time dreaming..... I set my sites a little lower and here is the result.

I set out to make something real cheap and real quick, and did I mention I wanted it to be real cheap. It also couldn't cost too much.

It isn't much, but it is far better than the piece of 3/4" pine and 2X4 legs I had before. One thing I have to say is I don't know how I ever did anything without a leg vise. That thing just comes in real handy. As I said, I wanted to make it cheap, so I didn't buy any vise hardware. I just bought a big piece of 3/4" all thread at Menards and some nuts and washers. I found a way to keep the nuts captive in the leg of the bench. I wasn't too picky about materials. Mostly whatever straight 2X4s I could find and a couple of 2X10s of southern yellow pine.

I am trying to learn how to use hand tools, and at least this bench doesn't slide around on me like my old one. I'm also hoping to add some kind of end vise thingy to it someday (notice the dog holes which don't do much of anything right now).

IMG_1171.jpg

IMG_1172.jpg

IMG_1173.jpg

IMG_1177.jpg
    Last edited by Jeff Wittrock; 12-12-2007 at 9:56 PM.

Talking

Jeff, for a "cheap" it looks great! It looks as good as many "expensive" benches I've seen. Enjoy.
    Don Bullock
    Woebgon Bassets
    AKC Championss

The man who makes no mistakes does not usually make anything.
    -- Edward John Phelps

First of all, welcome! The people here are great, I have learned so much from people here.