Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Introduction and wet wood question...

Introduction and wet wood question...

Hello to all -- my first post, although I've been lurking around for a few months

A short introduction: I've been turning for about 4 months using my small (Delta Midi) lathe which I cart out to the balcony of my 2nd floor apartment whenever I can. Pens are a snap, drop spindles for spinning are no problem, and I've recently started turning bowls using completely dry wood.

On to the question: About 2 weeks ago I rough turned a 3x8x8 marblewood blank that was wet-ish. My intention was to let it dry until next week, finish turn, sand, and tung-oil finish it for an x-mas gift. Since it was damp, I tossed it into a paper bag with some shavings, where it is right now.
    a) any chance it will even dry by next Monday?
    b) tung oil will be useless if it doesn't dry, right?
    c) does marblewood split easily if it dries too quickly?
    d) maybe it should be a mother's day gift?

Thanks in advance, everyone.

--K

Quote Originally Posted by krista todd View Post
    Hello to all -- my first post, although I've been lurking around for a few months

A short introduction: I've been turning for about 4 months using my small (Delta Midi) lathe which I cart out to the balcony of my 2nd floor apartment whenever I can. Pens are a snap, drop spindles for spinning are no problem, and I've recently started turning bowls using completely dry wood.

On to the question: About 2 weeks ago I rough turned a 3x8x8 marblewood blank that was wet-ish. My intention was to let it dry until next week, finish turn, sand, and tung-oil finish it for an x-mas gift. Since it was damp, I tossed it into a paper bag with some shavings, where it is right now.
    a) any chance it will even dry by next Monday?
    b) tung oil will be useless if it doesn't dry, right?
    c) does marblewood split easily if it dries too quickly?
    d) maybe it should be a mother's day gift?